Agents of Change: Sonia Joseph

2

There are many people in our community working to create positive change to end sexual violence. We want to meet as many of them as possible. If you would like to submit a recommendation, please email prevention@brstar.org.


Throughout history, we have seen that it only takes one person to start a movement. Do not be hesitant to become a part of the change we need to see in the world. Sonia Joseph 

FullSizeRender

What is your position at STAR?

SJ: Capital Area Regional Director

How did you come to work at STAR and/or in the field of sexual assault prevention/response?

SJ: I have a background in public administration and nonprofit leadership, and I am currently studying public policy. This is what led me to my role as Capital Area Regional Director at STAR. Within the short period that I have been at STAR, I feel well-informed on sexual assault, however, I have so much more to learn.

image2What do you find most rewarding about your work at STAR?

SJ: The most rewarding aspect of working at STAR is knowing that I am a “cog in the wheel” of a system that is working to change social perceptions of sexual violence as well as being employed with an organization that works extremely hard to respond to the needs of survivors.

What motivates you to keep going when things get difficult or discouraging?

SJ: I am truly living an awesome life; one that I could have never imagined. It is important for me to be optimistic, even when life gets a little difficult. A little optimism goes a long way.

image1What are some simple, day-to-day ways you promote positive change in our community, outside of your work duties?

SJ: I volunteer often with different organizations in Baton Rouge, specifically with mentoring youth. Volunteering offers me a sense of satisfaction in knowing that I can make a positive impact in someone’s life.

What advice would you give to someone who is hesitant about becoming an active member of the movement to end sexual trauma?

SJ: Be the change. Throughout history, we have seen that it only takes one person to start a movement. Do not be hesitant to become a part of the change we need to see in the world.

Leave a Reply

